Indigenous Improvisation Colloquium

An international colloquium on Indigenous Improvisation held at the MMaP Research Centre, Arts and Culture Centre, St. Johns, Newfoundland on July 4 and 5, 2018. Talks and discussions were presented by Indigenous scholars and musicians from Canada, the United States, Taiwan, and Norway.

July 4

9:00 – Welcome
Eastern Owl ensemble and greetings from event organizers

9:15 – 10:15 Panel:(Chair: Meghan Forsyth)
Dylan Robinson:  Improvising Decolonial Listening
Dolleen Manning:  Mnidoo Harmonics: Continuous and Discontinuous

10:15 – 10:45 Nutrition Break
10:45 – 12:15 Roundtable: Collaboration and Genre Mixing (Chair: Ellen Waterman)
Dawn Avery, Frode Fjellheim, Snorre Bjerck, Joanna Barker, Kuan Yuan Yu

12:15 – 1:30 Lunch

1:30 – 2:45 Keynote (Chair: Dawn Avery)
Trevor Reed:  Sonic Sovereignty: Performing Authority in Öngtupqa (Grand Canyon)

2:45 – 3:00 Nutrition Break

3:00 – 4:00Panel: Ground Breakers< strong>(Chair: Beverley Diamond)
Jessica Bissett Perea:  Improvising the/an Archive: Tanya Tagaq Gills and Contemporary Inukologics
John Carlos PereaSounding Culture, Improvising Ethnomusicology in American Indian Studies

4:00 – 4:30 Video Session: Artists present their work
Dawn Avery

July 5

9:00 – 9:30 Video Session: Artists present their work
Raven Chacon

9:30 – 11:00 Panel: International Indigenous Perspectives (Chair: Carolyn Chong)
Josh TuckerBroken Necks and Bitter Tears: Making Quechua Music in the Peruvian Andes
Kuan, Yuan Yu
Indigenizing Time and Space of the Black Current: Native Alliances, Improvisations and Musickings between Taiwan and Okinawa
Frode Fjellheim
Using Sámi Tradition as a Composer and Improviser

11:00 – 11: 15 Nutrition Break

11:15 – 11:45 Video Session: Artists present their work
Cris Derksen

11:45 – 1:15 Lunch and walk around Burton’s Pond

1:15 – 2:30 Keynote (Chair: Dylan Robinson)
Raven Chacon and Candice Hopkins:  What Gets Amplified: Sounding the Margins

2:30 – 2:45 Nutrition Break

2:45 – 3:15 Video Session: Artists present their work
Frode Fjellheim

3:15 – 4:30 Roundtable:  Freedom and Responsibility Chair: Beverley Diamond)
Cris Derksen, Raven Chacon, Trevor Reed, Dylan Robinson, Dolleen Manning, Josh Tucker

4:30 – 5:00 Plenary Discussion – Issues and Actions (Chairs: Ellen Waterman and Beverley Diamond)